
The home of the George W. Taylor Civil War Round Table is the
Red Mill Museum Village. Located at 56 Main Street, Clinton, NJ, just below the confluence of Spruce Run and the south branch
of the Raritan, on the west end of Main Street, the mill and its surroundings have played host to a succession of industries
and activities spawned by the region's remarkably rich agriculture (See map below). The Museum is open to the public from
early April to mid-October and hosts numerous special activities including educational programs, tours, concerts, living history
reenactments, antique and craft shows as well as popular annual events such as Harvest Jubilee and Haunted Mill.
The Museum is a private non-profit educational organization that
is the home of Clinton's landmark Red Mill. With over 40,000 artifacts, the Museum chronicles more than 180 years of Hunterdon
County history. The largest of the Museum's artifacts is the showpiece Red Mill. Built in 1810, the mill was used for processing
wool, grist, plaster, graphite and talc, generating electricity, pumping water and even peach basket production. The "monitor",
a roof line extension which was added in 1908, to accommodate new machinery, gives the mill its distinctive appearance. Today,
the four floors of the Mill showcase artifacts of Hunterdon County's rural, agricultural, and commercial heritage.
On
the Museum grounds is an 1860, one-room School House and a reproduction 18th century Log Cabin, complete with Herb Garden
and stone Spring House. Nearby Carriage Sheds display a large variety of wagons, carriages, sleds, and 19th century agricultural
equipment.
A significant portion of the Museum's nine acres is the home of the Mulligan Quarry. The Quarry was operated
in 1848 by three Irish immigrant brothers and remained in Mulligan hands until the early 1960s. The limestone quarry is the
site of many of the Museum's special events and education programs. Rolling terrain, situated above the river banks, provides
relaxing lawn seating against the dramatic backdrop of 150 foot high limestone cliffs. A number of structures, dating from
the 1850s to circa 1912, stand and function as interpretive and exhibit areas. These include the Quarry Office, Tenant House,
(part of which interprets a turn of the century general store), a functioning Blacksmith Shop, Dynamite Shed, Worker's Shack,
and Rock Screening House.
|